Portrait Photography

I enjoy portrait photography, but not the set up kind with a forest or white background. I always find, especially with children, that if you just let them carry on with their day, the poses that you can capture are far better than trying to get two siblings to sit next to each other and smile.

My niece visited a few weeks ago, and as beautiful as she is (which just made her pics look all the better) it was much easier and the pics looked so much better while she was just playing in the garden with her dog and my son.

Once upon a time I used to take on the dreaded wedding jobs, I hated every single one of them. If your SD Card is wiped before you get them onto your computer, you have ruined a very special day, location also is a great worry, there is a registry office in the Valley’s of South Wales that I must have photographed tens of weddings there and hated every single one. A plain limestone brick building with no greenery available anywhere and what greenery there is is fenced off with a 8 foot chain link fence. Photoshop can only do so much.

anyway, here are the pics I took of my niece last time she visited. I hope you see what I mean by her playing makes for a much more natural shot.

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

SONY DSC

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

NATURAL PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

 

4 thoughts on “Portrait Photography

  1. Someone once suggested I move to wedding photography due to the more lucrative market, they won’t make that mistake again – I’m with you, wedding photography isn’t for me either. I also like to capture those natural candid images, I think they’re the best kind.

    • The worse kind of wedding photography is when you do it for friends. Mates rates are not something I like doing when the whole process from taking the pics, editing them and then putting them onto a disc takes around 10 hours or more. I don’t mind being the 2nd photographer, let the one they are paying have the stress of it all I say.
      Thanks also for reading my post. 🙂

      • Yeah, I hear ya. I’ve done the odd backup gig in case the guy they’re paying stuffs up and it’s nice to be able to step back and take more risks and generally just enjoy the event and process of capturing images without the pressure. It’s certainly easier to get natural, “real” shots when you don’t have a checklist to get through.

  2. Pingback: Portrait Photography | goldenvalleyartsales

Leave a Reply

